Canon 50D Photos With 18-200mm IS Kit Lens
Written by Eric on August 24th, 2008 | 24 Comments
UPDATE: The Canon 50D has been announced on August 26, 2008. Please see Photography Bay’s Canon 50D Reviews and Resources page and Canon 50D Official Announcement page for more.
You can pre-order the Canon 50D now from Amazon.com via the following links:
The Canon 50D has been revealed with an EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS kit lens option. The image to the left is an official image from Canon, which appeared on this page [Update: Now password protected] from Canon Japan a third party site.
[Update: As some readers have pointed out, the location of the Canon 50D page is not on an official Canon site, nor is it Japanese - the language is Chinese. It looks like it could be a developer for Canon. I am also of the opinion that this page is related to the leak on the official Canon.com.cn site a couple days ago. I think we will see an announcement on Aug. 25th or 26th to confirm the leaks/rumors.]
Below you will find more official images of the Canon 50D. And, for those of you concerned about excessive noise in a 15.1 megapixel sensor, there’s an ISO 1600 sample image below as well.
For more info regarding the specifications and announcement news (when it comes) stay tuned to Photography Bay’s Canon 50D page.






August 24th, 2008 at 9:54 am
Correction. The link is not Canon Japan but Canon China
August 24th, 2008 at 11:53 am
The japaneese site seem to be a bit full of errorlinks…this might be a fake site…
August 24th, 2008 at 12:12 pm
http://www.canon.icp.dog-cr.jp is not a canon site. Just because someone puts “canon” in the name it does not make it an official site whether in Japan or China or anywhere else.
August 24th, 2008 at 1:13 pm
[...] have in the past, so I’m not entirely sure if there’s a cult following for the 50D, but PB stumbled across the official Canon Japan page. We first saw the specs last week and they look great [...]
August 24th, 2008 at 1:13 pm
[...] have in the past, so I’m not entirely sure if there’s a cult following for the 50D, but PB stumbled across the official Canon Japan page. We first saw the specs last week and they look great [...]
August 24th, 2008 at 1:38 pm
Thank you for information!
August 24th, 2008 at 1:51 pm
[...] PhotographyBay has some photos off of the Canon China’s webiste of the new 50D and it also has an image taken with the camera. Take a look here [...]
August 24th, 2008 at 4:04 pm
Looks good, but it is indeed not the Canon Japan (nor China) page. These pages are subdomains under the http://www.dog-cr.jp/ domain. Which probably means they have nothing to do with the real Canon website.
August 24th, 2008 at 5:21 pm
You can see the ORIGINAL Canon China pages yourself just by searching google. While those pages are now hosted on some third-party server, it looks like they were ripped directly from Canon.
Google:
site:canon.cn 50d
August 24th, 2008 at 5:35 pm
It is a fake.
The site is registrated for
Dog Creative Inc.
Postal Address Taito-ku
6-30-6 Higashi-ueno
Watanabe Building 2F
Japan
But not bad for a fake.
August 24th, 2008 at 8:13 pm
[...] Photography Bay has posted a test shot of a rally car at ISO 1600 from the 50D and it looks amazingly clear with very little to no noticeable grain or noise. [...]
August 24th, 2008 at 11:41 pm
The metadata on the sample picture seems to suggest it was taken with a 50D. Why would someone fake this?
August 25th, 2008 at 3:23 am
Well, I just baught a 40D, and I must say I cant find anything new on these pictures…
I guess these are hoax, you photoshop’d a 40D and change 4 to 5….
August 25th, 2008 at 4:16 am
The 50D is real…I’ve seen it here in Hawaii being used by Canon Reps…if you think that the 50D is a fake then simply go back to the frig and get another gallon of icecream and pork out. I love it when know-nothing dweebs make such statements as though they are fact.
August 25th, 2008 at 5:18 am
Checked the meta-data of this sample pic after downloading. Indeed states image was taken through a EF 600mm lens with a camera the Canon 50D, whatever that is… ;-)
August 25th, 2008 at 8:47 am
and its so difficult to edit exif data these days and nearly impossible to photoshop images. the leaked specs look really crap, not even close to nikons - ill keep my 40d till the 5d mk3 comes out.
August 25th, 2008 at 3:31 pm
This is all fake nonsense - like Mark’s intelligence. Mark - you are an idiot.
August 26th, 2008 at 12:33 am
If its real than Canon is cheap to use the same 40D body to save money. If so it better be a $1200 or so 50D camera like the 40D current price. I think its fake cause the 50D would have some if all buttons rearranged on the same 40D body just to make it look new and the new internals. But if they want to go for the all out battle vs. Nikon. It would be a slightly shaved 40D body, weight less, buttons rearranged, and newer look.
August 26th, 2008 at 2:46 am
[...] a scant three days after the first blunder, test shots and product pictures started showing up on other web pages that disappeared fairly quickly. What could Canon do but finally clean up the mess and make an [...]
August 26th, 2008 at 3:12 am
[...] 40D. MP, and there are some more shots, including a demo shot taken with the camera, available on PhotographyBay. Still waiting on that elusive 5D replacment… Canon’s EOS 50D product shots, test photo [...]
August 26th, 2008 at 3:34 am
50D was true, just announce by Canon
August 26th, 2008 at 3:49 am
hey bill check this out,
http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/controller?act=ModelInfoAct&fcategoryid=139&modelid=17499#ModelTechSpecsAct
August 26th, 2008 at 4:32 am
Fake? http://web.canon.jp/imaging/eosd/eos50d/eos50d_sample-e.html
February 26th, 2009 at 6:07 am
ok now that the 50d has been out for a while.. i wonder how those idiots are feeling now saying that it was a hoax and that 50d is a fake! hahaha… and mark its better to call them know-it-all idiots! hahaha..