Canon40D.net Decides to Rip Off Content

Written by Eric on May 11th, 2007 | 2 Comments


I always do my best to attribute the authors and sources of content that I link to here. It really chaps my rusty, however, when people take the content of others. Certainly, fair use is permitted in the blogging/news world. In fact, passing around content is generally encouraged – so long as you link back to your source. As photographers, we are particularly aware of copyright issues and proper attribution.

That said, let me take a moment to point out that canon40d.net has taken it upon itself to copy and paste the content of others with NO attribution whatsoever. Photography Bay’s recent post on the Canon 40D rumors now appears at the top of it’s page. As you can see by reading the post here on Photography Bay, canon40d.net has simply copied and pasted that post with no reference to the original post here.

Unfortunately, the site owner has not even provided a method to contact them via email or comments on the site. As a result, I’m left with no choice but to post this information here. I’m still considering whether to contact the host and issue a DMCA takedown notice, so if you’re reading this canon40D.net, you should do the right thing and create your own content and, when quoting others, properly attribute the authorship of the quoted sources. Given that the site has little original content, I’m not holding my breath.

Rather than link to canon40d.net, which improves the site’s search rankings, I’ll simply provide you with an image of the ripped off post (feel free to copy and paste the address to your browser though):

Now, read Photography Bay’s original post here.

FYI, Whois.Net provides the following info, which I have attempted to contact via email to no avail:

Domain Name: CANON40D.NET

Registrant:
Canon Inc.
Canon40D        (nilpixel@gmail.com)
No 42, Ttrue Ave
Texas
Carrollton,75001
US
Tel. +51.7654321
Fax. +51.7654321

Creation Date: 01-Feb-2007
Expiration Date: 01-Feb-2008

Domain servers in listed order:
ns1.micfo.com
ns2.micfo.com

UPDATE 5/15/07:  More of the same from another rip-off blog: http://best-raw-food.info/blogs/leica/4830/

[tags] canon, 40d, news, rumors, canon40d.net, copyright, infringement, theft, blog, blogging, media, content[/tags]



2 Responses to “Canon40D.net Decides to Rip Off Content”

  1. Jonathan Bailey

    While I think the idea of sending a DMCA notice to the host is sound, especially since he appears to be nothing more than a spammer, I would first encourage you to send a DMCA notice to Google over their use of Adsense. You can find information on that here:

    “>http://www.google.com/adsense_dmca.html

    It has to be faxed or snail mailed in, but it might be worth your while because this guy probably has hundreds of similar sites, but only one or two Adsense accounts between them.

    Hope this helps! Let me know if there is anything that I can do assist!

  2. Jonathan Bailey

    While I think the idea of sending a DMCA notice to the host is sound, especially since he appears to be nothing more than a spammer, I would first encourage you to send a DMCA notice to Google over their use of Adsense. You can find information on that here:

    http://www.google.com/adsense_dmca.html

    It has to be faxed or snail mailed in, but it might be worth your while because this guy probably has hundreds of similar sites, but only one or two Adsense accounts between them.

    Hope this helps! Let me know if there is anything that I can do assist!

Leave a Reply



Your Email:





Recent Comments:

  • techguru: Sony A550 DSLR Camera is a very good camera it has Quick Auto Focus Live View has been developed with Face Detection technology...
  • Manfred: Hi gents, sorry to say but I get somewhat tired after all these years… Basically I am a Nikon owner but hesitated to buy...
  • John: Moose Peterson has been using the D3s and he said NIkon told him the sensor in the D3s is a new sensor, not the same as in the D3.
  • Mohawk51: I still shoot film. The Nikkor 50MM F1.8 AIS is one of three lenses I carry in my bag. The other two are an 85MM F1.8 and the...
  • Lisa: Absolutely amazing! Nothing more you can say about this powerful presentation.
  • Chris: I have been unable to pull the trigger on buying an A550 because I am not sure this is a cost-effective upgrade from my A100. My...
  • Tisign Photography: King of the World? Ya right! just joking!;-) Just want to thank PHOTOGRAPHY BAY – and all repliers of course...
  • saleem shahid: I have bought one 3 weeks ago,up grade from D8O. I use ps cs2 and can,t use raw[NEF]files.I dont want to fork out mony for...